What I’ve Learned in the 5 Months Since My Last Post

Five months… man! I didn’t think I would take that long to update this, and yet here we are. School ended a couple months ago, and that prevented me from continuing. So how have I grown and learned since then? Quite a lot actually!

I have made several new videos, I’ve bought new camera gear, and I’ve realized slowly more and more the flaws within my own soul I need to let God weed out, but more on that later. Oh, also I went to NAB in Vegas in April, which was FLIPPING AMAZING!!!

While there I had a chance to see the Sony a7S up close and personal in its pre-production form. Now I even own one myself!

Ok enough of that. I have learned that rule #1 is “I Will Never Stop Learning”. Period. Never. There is no bottom to the wealth of knowledge I can learn about my world around me, my social circles that surround me, my God above me. Nothing seems to have an end to how much knowledge I can acquire.

First with God I realized how much of a sinner I am, and therefore how merciful and patient he is with me.

The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.
2 Peter 3:9

Second, that I have a lot to learn about my art. I like cameras and taking pictures, capturing my world in a moment of time. I get a thrill out of seeing my planet around me with new eyes.

20140727-073159-27119029.jpg

Shot with my Sony a7S on the way to work.

What I’ve learned is, it’s more than composition, or the equipment I use. It’s color, it’s contrast, it’s heart, and it’s soul. I hope to master this skill better.

And third, I have learned how little I know about the basic tools I use to execute my job making videos. It is clear I need time to learn color grading.

I expect to learn more, and will post what I can here when I can.

Until then, have a day!

Leave a Reply

